Want To Build A 7-figure Business? Avoid These Costly Mistakes

Steven Droege
4 min readOct 13, 2020

--

Let me share with you a quick story about experiences being a camp mentor for kids with mental and physical disabilities… and some lessons that will serve you.

In July, 2012, I was a summer camp mentor trying to give campers with disabilities unbeatable competitive advantages in life.

I really wanted to show kids how to express their gifts so I wouldn’t have to see people with disabilities treated differently .

I dreamed of being able to turn my campers into future leaders who are passionate so I could help them avoid being overlooked in the future.

However, I was not getting through to every camper. Which meant I wasn’t turning all my campers into future leaders who are passionate, let alone helping them avoid being overlooked in their future.

Even worse, I was feeling terrible because I desperately wanted to help and serve as their mentor.

I felt even worse about the situation because I knew these campers would return to their old (disempowering) environments. I felt like I was the wrong person to help them.

The problem was that camp only lasted 2 weeks. Which meant if I didn’t get through to these kids, I would lose this opportunity to help them be leaders, which meant I would never have another chance to help these kids (since I was moving).

Then, it struck me…

That’s when I talked with my head mentor who told me all about how people pay attention to what you do (my actions) not what you say!

It now made perfect sense how to prepare these kids for the leadership trends I saw coming in the future, because I saw that these kids (who others wrote off) had infinite potential to become leaders who would never be ignored.

I also learned that while some people saw these kids as helpless, you need to see everyone as having exceptional leadership potential instead.

As a result I helped each child unlock their leadership potential.

After I did that, I started teaching entrepreneurs to lead the way in their business.

Suddenly, I was seeing people have more confidence in themselves.

That’s when I realized that the BIG secret to create an unbeatable competitive advantage was to create leadership movements within businesses.

My plan was to start writing a leadership book unlike anything ever published.

So I started taking note of the most important lessons to teach entrepreneurs. But it didn’t stop there.

Next, we put together courses that teach entrepreneurs how to create a leadership culture in less than 60 minutes.

After that, we started sharing our best material with other business leaders.

But there was still an issue…

I was a college student struggling with feeling confident and qualified enough to teach business leaders.

It was so frustrating that I decided to put the courses together into an unbeatable package.

We call it “The Choose to Lead System”.

We thought if we could create something that would make it possible to help entrepreneurs (of all ages & experience) become leaders who never overlook talented employees with disabilities, we’d be fulfilling our mission.

The Choose to Lead System came after 8 years and many business failures.

Now, we can show entrepreneurs how to build an workforce that adapts to anything by using leadership.

As a result of all this we were able to achieve the following:

Entrepreneurs feel empowered to spot the two leadership trends coming in the near future:

  1. Capturing the strengths of older workers and workers with disabilities.
  2. Using leadership to gain a competitive advantage by creating an adaptable workforce.

After creating The Choose to Lead System, I was not only able to show anyone how they can be a leader.

I’ve also been able to stop feeling like I’m not good enough to help, because we can now transform entrepreneurs and employees in less than 60 minutes.

And what this means is that I’m now able to create work cultures full of leaders who are never overlooked and judged because of who they are.

The thing I really want you to take away from this is anybody can choose to be successful if they choose to lead.

So what this means to you in your life / business is we all have a leader inside of us waiting to be unleashed.

So here’s your next step as it relates to what you and I just shared:

Join me in creating a movement of leaders by using the Choose to Lead System!

--

--